Apple crisp – sugar free edition

Since starting THM diet, I had to try a lot of new recipes. Some of them were not bad, some of them were just bleh! Even though I know how to bake, using new kinds of flour and trying to separate fats from carbs is always challenging. I like the challenge! I just wish the results were more enjoyable, which doesn’t happen as often as I want. Sometimes it is frustrating, and possibly you have experienced it too.FullSizeRender

I would like to share my successful apple crisp recipe. For THM followers – it is a crossover, if you want to modify it to E, reduce the amount of butter to 6 tsp.

For the large baking dish I used:

4 cup of peeled and diced apples
1 tbs lemon juice
1/3 cup oat flour (I grind rolled oats)
1 cup rolled oats
2 tbs Gwen’s nest brown sugar
1/3 cup of sweet blend (I make my own from erythritol and stevia), or convert to your preferred sweetener
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/3 cup of butter, melted

Put apples on the bottom of the pan, sprinkle with lemon juice. Combine all dry ingredients and mix with melted butter until crumbly. Spread the crumb mixture over apples. Bake at 350F for 30 minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

