3 my favourite breakfasts, THM style

Good morning, my friends!tea

Okay, it is not quite morning, but it would be cool!

Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day. I love this feeling when it is so early that it feels like you have a lot of time before you need to run and do stuff. It is quiet and peaceful. In short, perfect time to sit down with nice cup of tea and enjoy your meal.

Since I started doing THM (Trim Healthy Mama), I have started loving my breakfasts even more. I had several people asking me what I do for my breakfasts, for ideas. They are not unique in anyway, (and mostly it is my pre-THM breakfast, just slightly modified) but I will share my 3 favourite breakfasts with you. Since it is winter here, all of them are hot. When summer comes, I guess I will have to come up with something refreshing.

1. Old-fashioned or steel-cut oats with coconut milk (E – stands for Energizing meal in THM). I prefer steel-cut oats if I cook it ahead of time. That is my breakfast for days when I need to be out of the door by 6:30. I cook it in advance, 1/2 cup per day, and reheat in the mornings with 1/2 cup of coatmealoconut milk (the one from the carton) and add berries and vanilla, or quarter of an apple with cinnamon. Sometimes I eat some greek yogurt with it, or I just take 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder and mix it in after cooking. I do not like it sweet, so I usually omit sweeteners.

2. Mini-omlets (S – stands for Satisfying meal in THM). This is the breakfast I cook often for my Loved One. Basically, I put all leftovers of vegetables in them, some sautéed mushrooms and chopped bacon in egg-cream mixture and sprinkle cheese on them. I bake them in muffin pan, using paper lining, so it will be less cleaning. I bake it for 20-25 minutes at 350F, and store in the fridge in air-tight container.

3. Oatmeal crepes with cooked apples and vanilla yogurt (Crossover). I love crepes and I treat myself with these crepes sometimes on Saturdays. They are thin and delicate, and taste very good. I tried it with both sweet and savoury fillings and both are good in them.

Recipe:

1 egg
2 tablespoons of cream diluted in water to make 1/2 cup
60 g oat flour
pinch of salt
1/2 tablespoon of erythritol (or sweetener of your choice)
1 teaspoon melted butter

Whisk egg with “milk” and butter, add oat flour, salt and sweetener until there are no more lumps. Add more water if the batter is too thick. Fry on the non-stick pan like usual crepes. I did not add any butter to the pan. Add your favourite fillings.

Do you have favourite breakfast meals?

Leave a Reply

