Russian pirozhki with eggs and green onion

Pirozhki are usually baked stuffed buns made from yeast dough and often glazed with egg.

This dish is one of my favourite from my childhood. I remember my Grandmother making pirozhki with potato or cabbage for me; my Mom usually made them with carrot of sorrel. They are very tasty hot, just baked, but they are also tasty cold; and it is so convenient to take them with you!

As any popular dish, it has thousands of variations, and each family has their own recipe, of course “the best one”. I am sharing my the best recipe.

SAM_9072

Ingredients:

Dough:
1 cup milk
1 egg
1 teaspoon dry yeast
1 tsp salt
3 tbsp sugar
6 tbsp oil
500g flour (approximately, it depends on the flour, humidity, etc.)

Filling:
6-8 eggs
green onion (I like to put it twice more than eggs, but it is up to you)
salt and pepper

egg yolk or water for brushing the top

First I made the dough. I dissolved sugar and yeast in warm (40C) milk. I added egg, salt, oil and milk, mixed it well. Then I added flour little by little, until the dough became elastic but still soft. I was using my KitchenAid to knead it, for approximately 10 minutes. After that, I covered mixing bowl with plastic, and put in warm place to proof for approximately 45-50 minutes. During this time I made the filling. I hard boiled eggs, peeled and chopped them. Mixed them with chopped onion, and salt and pepper.

When dough became twice bigger, I punched it, releasing trapped air from inside, and left to proof the second time. I took 30 minutes.

It is time to preheat the oven 350F (180C).

Now starts the difficult part – making pirozhki. I cut equal sized pieces of dough approximately 4-5 cm in diameter, rolled them so they were flat and round. I used flour to prevent sticking them to the table and rolling pin. After that I put some filling in the middle of each one, folded and pinched to close it. It is very confusing explanation, so I found my friend’s short video on how to do it https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1mWzs7JFfeg

Brush them with water or egg yolk and bake for 25-30 minutes.

It seems like a lot of work, but it is worth it!

 

Leave a Reply

